Jesus Is Better Than Coupons! by Gene McGuire July 25, 2011

Posted: July 24, 2011 in The Kingdom of God...
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,
“For God so greatly loved and dearly prized the world that He [even] gave His only begotten [unique] Son….” (John 3:16) Amplified Bible
COMMENT: For as long as I can remember, I’ve had a poor self-image. I guess it started when I was a youngster and was rebuked by guys my age because I was “athletically challenged”. (Can you imagine a Black  kid living in a ghetto and not knowing how to play basketball?) In school when sports teams were chosen, I was always the last person picked. In adulthood this led to some peculiar attitudes and resulting action, trying to hide my inferiority complex by putting on a superior facade.
There was a time when I would not use coupons at the food market because I didn’t want anyone to think that I was poor. For the same reason, I  would never look into my wallet while I was in the store because I didn’t want anyone to think that I was checking to see if I had enough cash to pay for my groceries. Every time Equitable, my company, would hold a convention I had to have a new outfit, something “they” had not seen before. Recently I came across a list of goals I had set in 1970; among other things it included the purchase of 8 new suits in 1971. Now why in the world would I need to purchase 8 new suits? The Cadillac automobile I leased was part of my stupid strategy. Now that I am a Christian, “I’ve got a new attitude.” Christ‘s death for man gives us God’s ultimate evaluation of the worth of man in His sight. Therefore, I am highly esteemed in God’s sight. It doesn’t matter what man thinks of me. I am confident in the steadfast love of my Heavenly Father. I’m His treasured possession and the apple of His eye. That works for me!
SCRIPTURE STUDY: Deut. 32:10, Luke 14:11 and 18:14
WISE SAYING: WE WOULDN’T WORRY SO MUCH ABOUT WHAT PEOPLE THINK OF US IF WE KNEW HOW LITTLE THEY DID! 
Leave a Reply

